Could LG Optimus G become the Optimus Nexus?  Probably

Could LG Optimus G become the Optimus Nexus? Probably

As many of you know, LG re-introduced the Optimus G yesterday and made it known that it would it hit international markets come October.  With us here in the United States anxiously awaiting our release, we begin to wonder how and where it will make its debut.  Could it be a Verizon follow-up in the tradition of Revolution or Spectrum? Sure.  Could it also be a stock Android 4.1 experience called the Optimus Nexus?  Yeah, that sounds possible, too.

Considering the beefy hardware and latest build of Android, the Optimus G is the stuff that us nerds love.  With the year end launch expected, the timing is right for the annual Nexus line.  Our friends over at AndroidAndMe have heard from a pair of reliable sources that LG is expected produce a Nexus smartphone this year.  Given the recent rumor of an Optimus Nexus, this would be the perfect device for Android faithful.  What with its quad-core processor, LTE support, 2GB RAM, and 32GB storage, it’s among the smartphone elite. With rumors of up to five Nexus partners, LG’s got something special here and could really help their U.S. image.

As a reminder, LG does have an event scheduled for today where they may provide some new details for the Optimus G.  We would not expect to hear any Nexus stuff today, but it could give us a few more tea leaves worth reading.

AndroidAndMe

About author

Scott Webster
Scott Webster 6607 posts

Scott has been running AndroidGuys since 2007 and loves nothing more than reading up on the latest smartphone rumors. His other mobile efforts can be found on Android Update (CNET) where he covers Google's mobile platform.

You might also like

Featured

Samsung announces suite of accessories for Galaxy S4 along with pricing

We announced this morning the confirmation that the Samsung Galaxy S4 will arrive at seven U.S. carriers beginning in April. To go along with that chunk of news, Samsung also announced

Featured

HTC One with “Nexus user experience” announced for June 26

Runs Android 4.2.2 out of the box with future updates coming directly from Google.

App Reviews

Get this look for your Android homescreen: Tiles 2.1

One of our absolute favorite things about Android is the fact that you can bend and tweak the platform to your needs.  Sure, there’s rooting and modding for deep level

24 Comments

  1. Iucidium
    September 19, 07:43 Reply

    Hmmmmm – battery is too small. I’ll say it once, I’ll say it again – a Nexus MAXX would be better

Leave a Reply