Could LG Optimus G become the Optimus Nexus?  Probably

Could LG Optimus G become the Optimus Nexus? Probably

As many of you know, LG re-introduced the Optimus G yesterday and made it known that it would it hit international markets come October.  With us here in the United States anxiously awaiting our release, we begin to wonder how and where it will make its debut.  Could it be a Verizon follow-up in the tradition of Revolution or Spectrum? Sure.  Could it also be a stock Android 4.1 experience called the Optimus Nexus?  Yeah, that sounds possible, too.

Considering the beefy hardware and latest build of Android, the Optimus G is the stuff that us nerds love.  With the year end launch expected, the timing is right for the annual Nexus line.  Our friends over at AndroidAndMe have heard from a pair of reliable sources that LG is expected produce a Nexus smartphone this year.  Given the recent rumor of an Optimus Nexus, this would be the perfect device for Android faithful.  What with its quad-core processor, LTE support, 2GB RAM, and 32GB storage, it’s among the smartphone elite. With rumors of up to five Nexus partners, LG’s got something special here and could really help their U.S. image.

As a reminder, LG does have an event scheduled for today where they may provide some new details for the Optimus G.  We would not expect to hear any Nexus stuff today, but it could give us a few more tea leaves worth reading.

AndroidAndMe

About author

Scott Webster
Scott Webster 6579 posts

Scott has been running AndroidGuys since 2007 and loves nothing more than reading up on the latest smartphone rumors. His other mobile efforts can be found on Android Update (CNET) where he covers Google's mobile platform.

You might also like

Featured

Samsung Galaxy Note 8.0 images confirm same design as “smaller” model

The first real-world images of the Samsung Galaxy Note 8.0 have surfaced and they show a strikingly similar design as the smaller Galaxy Note II. (It’s not often you get

Featured

Samsung ushers in new design language with Galaxy Alpha

Expected to launch at the beginning of September, the new desgin focuses on both beauty and functionality After months of rumors and speculation, the Samsung Galaxy Alpha has finally become official.

News and Rumors

Watch or cast Amazon Instant Video from your device, other Flash content too

We all know how great Amazon Prime is with its free two-day shipping, Prime Music and unlimited Prime Instant Video steaming. The only problem with subscribing to the service is

24 Comments

  1. Iucidium
    September 19, 07:43 Reply

    Hmmmmm – battery is too small. I’ll say it once, I’ll say it again – a Nexus MAXX would be better

Leave a Reply