August 22, 2014

Could LG Optimus G become the Optimus Nexus? Probably

lg_optimus_g_720w

As many of you know, LG re-introduced the Optimus G yesterday and made it known that it would it hit international markets come October.  With us here in the United States anxiously awaiting our release, we begin to wonder how and where it will make its debut.  Could it be a Verizon follow-up in the tradition of Revolution or Spectrum? Sure.  Could it also be a stock Android 4.1 experience called the Optimus Nexus?  Yeah, that sounds possible, too.

Considering the beefy hardware and latest build of Android, the Optimus G is the stuff that us nerds love.  With the year end launch expected, the timing is right for the annual Nexus line.  Our friends over at AndroidAndMe have heard from a pair of reliable sources that LG is expected produce a Nexus smartphone this year.  Given the recent rumor of an Optimus Nexus, this would be the perfect device for Android faithful.  What with its quad-core processor, LTE support, 2GB RAM, and 32GB storage, it’s among the smartphone elite. With rumors of up to five Nexus partners, LG’s got something special here and could really help their U.S. image.

As a reminder, LG does have an event scheduled for today where they may provide some new details for the Optimus G.  We would not expect to hear any Nexus stuff today, but it could give us a few more tea leaves worth reading.

AndroidAndMe