Gmail now lets users email Google+ connections, opt out available
Further integrating its social network into its other services, today Google announced a new feature allowing Gmail users to email a Google+ connection, whether they’ve exchanged email addresses or not.
Gmail and Google+ users should be receiving an email with information about the new feature in the next few days. The feature can then be enabled with a new setting in Gmail, with certain circles, anyone or no one at all from Google+ being able to email you.
Google said that the way it works is when typing an address in the “To” box, you can keep typing or select an email address from someone you already have contacted before, as always, or you can choose to send an email to a Google+ contact, whose email address you don’t have.
Keeping privacy in mind, Google said that your email address is only shared with the people you want to have it, so your email address isn’t visible to a Google+ connection unless you send that person an email, and vice versa, that person’s email address isn’t visible to you unless they send you an email.
Lastly, if a contact in one of your circles emails you, it’ll show up in the Primary tab of your Gmail inbox, while all others will be filtered to the Social tab.