August 1, 2014

Adobe Revel - Sharing Photos After 30 Days

revelcover

Like many users, I installed Adobe’s Revel application the day it came out. Well, that was a little over one month ago, and I am just now beginning to feel the crunch that Adobe places on users after the first thirty days. Let me explain.

Revel is a fantastically designed photography application, and is nothing short of what you would expect from Adobe. The application was initially released on iOS way back in 2011, but it made its way to Android in March 2014. A bit behind, but forgivable for an application the promises powerful sharing and privacy options. Privacy is at the forefront of this application, and users must be explicit in choosing who has access to view or add photos to specific albums. The application has some simple editing tools, and albums can be updated by anyone with the given permission. Even better, this application syncs across devices, and lets users access Adobe’s Cloud to edit photos in Photoshop and Premiere Elements 12.

After uploading 50 photos for the month, Revel will provide you with upgrade options.

After uploading 50 photos for the month, Revel will provide you with upgrade options.

Adobe offers the first 30 days with unlimited uploads, and all was going well until I hit my 50 photos/month limit only 10 days into April. I find it incredibly unfortunate, because I truly do enjoy Revel’s interface and sharing options. However, now that I have hit my monthly limit, I will look to different sharing applications that do not require me to pick and choose to meet a limited quota. For those who do use Revel’s service extensively, and need that unlimited upload capability, plans are $5.99/month or $59.99/year.