Create a collaborative album using Google Photos

One of my favorite Google apps is Photos. Not only does Google Photos backup every single photo I take from from my Android or iOS devices, but it also allows for me to create collaborative albums with friends and family.

Collaborative albums are creations which allow you to share a group of photos and videos, with people of your choice. Albums can be created using Google Photos on the web, on iOS devices as well as Android devices. They can be shared via links through SMS, email or other messaging apps.

Here’s how to create collaborative albums.


Create a collaborative album

Make an album that multiple people can add to by turning on “Collaborate.”

Create an album that people can add photos & videos to

  1. Select the photos and videos you want to include.
  2. At the top right, tap or click Create
  3. Select Shared album.
  4. Name the album.
  5. At the top right, tap or click SHARE.
  6. Use the link that was created to share the album (on mobile, tap Get link to copy it).
    Note that anyone who has that link will be able to add photos and videos to that album.

See who’s joined your album

  1. Open the Google Photos app or go to
  2. Open the album you want to learn about.
  3. At the top, you might see:
    • Profile pictures of people: These people have joined your album. To see someone’s name, tap the profile picture.
    • Only your picture. That means no one has joined your album yet. Note that people with the album link will still be able to see your album, even if they don’t join your album.

Note: You can’t remove individual people from your album, but you can:

  • Stop everyone from seeing your album by turning off sharing.
  • Stop everyone from adding items by turning off collaboration (see below).

Stop everyone from adding

  1. Open the album you want to update.
  2. At the top right, tap or click More
  3. Select Sharing options.
  4. Next to “Collaborate,” turn the switch off.
    Note: People will still be able to see the album if they have the album link, unless you turn off “Share album.”

Delete an album

  1. Open the album you want to delete.
  2. At the top right, tap or click More
  3. Select Delete album.

The photos and videos will still be in your Google Photos library unless you delete them.