How to add/delete new user profiles [Android 201]

Do you have kids that constantly want to use your Android device? What if you don’t want them accessing any important files or applications? On most Android tablets running 4.3 Jelly Bean or above, users can now add new profiles to their devices.

This functionality is mostly only available on tablets, but there’s promise that it will be added to phones in the future. Separate profiles can be access through the lock screen, making it an easy switch. Also, there’s an option to add both normal and restricted profiles, and we’ll show you how to do both.

KEEP IN MIND: Not all Android phones are the same. Some will have more steps required to complete each task, others will have less. At AndroidGuys, we will do our best to walk you through each task as well as we can.

How to add a new user profile

New User 1To begin, head to Settings, then scroll down until you see “Users”. Under the main account, click “Add user or profile”.

New User 2

You’ll then be prompted to choose to either add a new User or Restricted profile. For this example, choose User. 

New User 3

The device will then let you know the ins and outs of having a second user on the device. They have their own wallpaper, applications, user data, etc. If you’d like to proceed, choose OK at this menu. Afterwards, you can choose to have the new user set up their profile now or later.

How to add a restricted profile

To add a restricted profile, head to Settings, scroll down until you see “Users”, then choose “Add user or profile” (see previous example). Next, you’ll be prompted to add a new User or Restricted profile. For this example, choose Restricted profile.

Restricted profile 1In order to set up a new restricted profile, you must have a lock on your device. If you don’t already have one, choose “Set lock”. Once set up, the restricted profile is created.

Restricted profile 2Now here’s the fun part! You have the ability to choose what the restricted user can and cannot access. If you want to enable an app, switch the toggle from OFF to ON. If an app has access to different accounts, it will notify you. Some apps aren’t supported in restricted profiles like Gmail, Google Calendar, Twitter, and more. Unfortunately there is no way around that, but obviously these aren’t supported for good reason.

How to delete a user profile

Delete user profile 1If you’d like to delete a user or restricted profile, head to the Users page and click the trash can next to the one you’d like to delete.

Still having trouble? Head to the comments and we will do our best to help you out! If there is anything you would like to suggest to AndroidGuys or to any other readers, feel free to use the comment section below!