How to create and share photo albums with Android’s Google Photos

One of the best Google apps available today is Google Photos. Not only does Google give you unlimited free storage for your photos and movies, it also gives you a whole host of features commonly found in apps that cost actual money.

One of the best features is the ability to create and share albums that your friends and family can add their own media to as well. It’s rather simple so don’t be intimidated. For many this feature is intuitive, but for others they made need a little instructions.

Make sure you have Google Photos installed from the Google Play Store.

You will need to create an album before it can be shared.

Create an album

Screenshot_20160325-204308

Mobile app

  1. Open the Google Photos app .
  2. At the top right, tap Create .
  3. Select Album.
  4. Select the photos and videos you want to include.
  5. Tap DONE.

Once created you can then share an album. If you no longer want to share that album, I have also included instructions on how to unshare it.

Share (or unshare) an album

Screenshot_20160325-204212

Send other people a set of your photos by sending them a link.

Instructions
  1. Open the album.
  2. At the top right, tap or click More .
  3. Select Sharing options.
    • Share the album: Next to “Share album,” turn the switch on. Use the link that was created to share the album. Note that anyone who has that link will be able to see the album.
    • Stop allowing people to see your album: Next to “Share album,” turn the switch off.
      Once you turn this off, no one will be able to see your album. Any photos that were added by other people will be removed.

Create a collaborative album

Make an album that multiple people can add to by turning on “Collaborate.”

Create an album that people can add photos & videos to

  1. Select the photos and videos you want to include.
  2. At the top right, tap or click Create .
  3. Select Shared album.
  4. At the top right, tap or click SHARE.
  5. Use the link that was created to share the album (on mobile, tap Get link to copy it).
    Note that anyone who has that link will be able to add photos and videos to that album.

See who’s joined your album

  1. Open the Google Photos app or go to photos.google.com.
  2. At the top left, tap or click the Menu  > Shared albums.
  3. Open the album you want to learn about.
  4. At the top, you might see:
    • Profile pictures of people: These people have joined your album. To see someone’s name, tap the profile picture.
    • Only your picture. That means no one has joined your album yet. Note that people with the album link will still be able to see your album, even if they don’t join your album.

Note: You can’t remove individual people from your album, but you can:

  • Stop everyone from seeing your album by turning off sharing.
  • Stop everyone from adding items by turning off collaboration (see below).

Stop everyone from adding

  1. Open the album you want to update.
  2. At the top right, tap or click More .
  3. Select Sharing options.
  4. Next to “Collaborate,” turn the switch off.
    Note: People will still be able to see the album if they have the album link, unless you turn off “Share album.”

How to steps from Google Photos help.

Loading...