Breakups. They are never easy, especially if you are still friends with your ex on Facebook. Which is why the social network everybody uses is introducing new tools to ease the awkwardness.
The tools will appear when a user changes their relationship status, which allow the user to do the following:
- Limit the former partner’s name and profile picture without unfriending or blocking them.
- Limit how much your former partner can view your statuses, photos or videos.
- Limit who can see you and your former partner’s past posts.
The tools have started rolling out to US Facebook users on Android and other mobile devices. Facebook has stated that these tools are optional and can easily be accessed in the help center of the site.
“This work is part of our ongoing effort to develop resources for people who may be going through difficult moments in their lives,” Product Manager Kelly Winters wrote in a blog post.
“We hope these tools will help people end relationships on Facebook with greater ease, comfort and sense of control.”