Instagram today announced a new feature to its app, dubbed “Instagram Stories”. The update, automatically pushed from its servers, aims to offer a place for users to share content – without overposting on their feed.

Somewhat similar to Snapchat’s Story sharing, users can post pictures and videos into a dedicated place that can be seen by anyone who visits your account. If your account is private, only your followers may view it. One may also block a person from accessing their stories regardless if they’re a follower. They disappear after 24 hours.

tumblr_inline_ob956rLUx01svf3j7_540

To spice it up, there’s also a built in editor which enables you to draw with different color pens and slap stickers onto your photos. Sounds familiar?

tumblr_inline_ob956c82Ew1svf3j7_540

To view someone’s story, just tap on their profile photo. It’s easy to view stories at your own pace: tap to go back and forward or swipe to jump to another person’s story. If you want to comment on something you see, you can tap and send a private message to that person on Instagram Direct. Unlike regular posts, there are no likes or public comments.

It appears as Instagram just turned up the heat on the social media war. The Stories feature is now live and can be used by anyone using Instagram.

Note: Select outbound links may include affiliate tracking codes and AndroidGuys may receive compensation for purchases. Read our policy.