Rumors of a PlayStation phone have swirling for months, and more recently we learned it will be called the Xperia Play and saw a fairly thorough hands-on with the device. Yet it has not been officially announced. But now, Sony Ericsson has taken to their Facebook page to say that the official announcement will be on Sunday, February 13, at 18:00 GMT. That’s 1:00 p.m. Eastern/10:00 a.m. Pacific.

With all we already know about this device, it will be interesting to see what they actually announce at the announcement–hopefully price, carrier and launch date.

Advertisements

Today’s teaser coincided with a Superbowl ad, a one-minute cut of the weird thumb-surgery-on-a-bugdroid ad that hit YouTube recently. If you were busy getting more nachos went it ran, just hit play below to get excited and/or creeped out.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M4lxuoGgbxs[/youtube]
Note: Select outbound links may include affiliate tracking codes and AndroidGuys may receive compensation for purchases. Read our policy.